The Founders

foundersEstablished in 1990 as a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing high caliber professional musicianship to the community, the Newtown Chamber Orchestra was founded by Russell Hoffmann, Milton Schwartz and Craig Smith. It was incorporated in August 1990 in Pennsylvania and granted a 501(c)(3) status in August 1991.

Several of he founding members are still actively involved with the organization. Mr. Hoffmann is the Music Director and concert conductor; Dr. Schwartz is Concertmaster and a member of the Board of Trustees; Craig Smith was the principal French horn player and Treasurer of the orchestra until he resigned in 2012 after 22 years of service.